Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In | Register
APME Committees

If you'd like to get involved in the good work of APME or have questions about the committees, e-mail the committee chairs below.

Much of APME's work occurs throughout the year in the association's committees.

While individual goals change every year as new issues and opportunities arise, the priority remains the same: help APME assist busy editors and directors to become better managers leading trained, professional staffs who put out interesting, relevant newspapers, websites and broadcast reports.

The committees are a great way to get involved with the association and to move into an important, visible role in the news industry.

Marketing, Branding & Communication: This committee helps to get the word out about the group’s activities and conference and those of NewsTrain and other initiatives through the website, social media and other marketing tools. It interacts with all the other committees and is vital to the success of the organization. This committee works to grow and improve both the annual live and silent auctions at the conference and the online auctions throughout the year.

Chair: Autumn Phillips, The Southern Illinoisan, Carbondale, Ill.
Co-Chair: George Rodrigue, The Plain Dealer, Cleveland 

Vice-chair: Elections & Membership: Michael Days, Philadelphia Daily News This committee is responsible for vetting candidates to fill expiring or empty positions on the APME Board of Directors. Candidates are chosen based on participation in APME, circulation size, geography and other factors to ensure a diverse governing body. Committee members: Angie Muhs, State Journal-Register, Springfield, Ill.; Adviser: Chris Cobler, Victoria (Texas) Advocate

Vice-chair: Professors & Student Journalists: Mark Baldwin, Rockford (Ill.) Register Star. With the addition of educators and student news leaders to the membership, this committee will help engage and involve those involved with our next generation of news leaders. 

Vice-chair: APME Magazine: Andrew Oppman, Middle Tennessee State University. One of our most valued and important communication tools, APME News is mailed several times a year magazine to the AP membership.

Vice-chair: Website/Social MediaJack Lail, Knoxville (Tenn.) News Sentinel. This committee works with the other directors to improve our communications through, Facebook, Twitter and other social media avenues. Committee: Kurt Franck, The Blade, Toledo, Ohio; Anne Brennan, Cape Cod Online

Fundraising: This committee seeks funding through sponsorships and grants for the annual conference and NewsTrain.
Chair: Cate Barron, Patriot-News/PennLive, Harrisburg, Pa.
Co-chair: Alan D. Miller, Columbus Dispatch
First Amendment: This committee champions the First Amendment through programs and initiatives and by partnering with other journalism organizations.
Chair: Michael Anastasi, The Tennessean
Co-chair: Mark Baldwin, Rockford (Ill.) Register Star
Committee: Barry Arthur, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette; Geri Ferrara, The Dominion Post, Morgantown, W.V.

NewsTrain: NewsTrain is a national touring workshop serving journalists in their own cities. Programs are designed to provide training in the skills, knowledge, and information newsroom leaders need in a rapidly changing media setting.

Chair: Cate Barron, The Patriot-News, Harrisburg, Pa.
Committee: Jack Lail, Knoxville (Tenn.) News Sentinel; Kurt Franck, The Blade, Toledo, Ohio

APME Awards: This committee organizes the annual APME awards: Innovator of the Year, The Gannett Foundation Award for Innovation in Watchdog Journalism, Public Service, First Amendment, International Perspective, Digital Storytelling and Reporting and the AP staff awards. They will work with the marketing and other committees to publicize the awards, entry criteria and deadlines. Then the group coordinates the judging each summer and presentations at the conference.
Chair: Tom Koetting, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Adviser: Joe Hight, Oklahoma
Committee: Traci Bauer, and The Journal News, White Plains, N.Y.
Kelly Dyer Frye, The Oklahoman
George Rodrigue, The Plain Dealer, Cleveland
Adviser: Joe Hight, Oklahoma

■ Great Ideas: This group pulls together great ideas from media outlets across the continent and compiles them in one digital resource for our annual conference. This is a signature APME production and one that many have said is among the single best things they bring home.
Chair: Tony Elkins Jr., Sarasota Herald-Tribune

Diversity Today: This committee organizes the Robert G. McGruder Diversity Leadership awards and will focus throughout the year on diminished diversity priorities.
Chair: Bill Church, The Herald-Tribune, Sarasota, Fla.
Co-chair: Chris Cobler, The Victoria (Texas) Advocate
Michael Anastasi, The Tennessean
Carlos Sanchez, The Monitor of McAllen, Texas
Tom Arviso, The Navajo Times, Window Rock, Ariz.

Sounding Board: The Sounding Board panel solicits feedback from editors about AP’s filing of the wires, news content and other aspects of the news cooperative’s report. It also deals with issues of import to the newsroom leaders who comprise the membership.
Chair: Gary Graham, The Spokesman-Review, Spokane, Wash.

Broadcast: This panel will look at ways to honor and involve APME's newest members from the broadcast stations.
Co-Chair: Eric Ludgood, WGCL/CBS, Atlanta News
Co-Chair: Ronnie Agnew, Mississippi Public Broadcasting

Convention 2016: One of the busiest committees, this one plans the 2016 joint APME -ASNE annual conference in downtown Philadelphia., attends to the details and runs the show each year.
Chair: Bill Church, The Herald-Tribune, Sarasota, Fla.
Co-Chair: Michael Days, Philadelphia Daily News
Angie Muhs, The State Journal-Register, Springfield, Illinois
Kim Meader, The Arizona Republic
Summer Moore, The Times of Northwest Indiana
Student liaison: Mark Baldwin, Rockford (Ill.) Register Star
Adviser: Jim Simon, Seattle Times

Associated Press Media Editors

APME is a professional network, a resource for helping editors and broadcasters improve their news coverage and newsroom operations.

Quick Links

Home About News Events