Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
APME conferences and presidents, from 1933 to today
Share |
1933 - French Lick, Ind.: President Oliver Owen Kuhn, Washington Star
1934 - Chicago: President Oliver Owen Kuhn, Washington Star
1935 - Chicago: President Oliver Owen Kuhn, Washington Star
1936 - Chicago: President Oliver Owen Kuhn, Washington Star
1937 - New Orleans: President Roy A. Roberts, Kansas City Star
1938 - Cleveland: President Walter M. Harrison, Oklahoma City Times and Oklahoman
1939 - New York: President N.R. Howard, Cleveland News
1940 - Louisville: President C.G. Wellington, Kansas City Star
1941 - Chicago: President Neil H. Swanson, Baltimore Sun
1942 - No conference
1943 - Chicago: President Basil L. Walters, Minneapolis Star-Journal and Tribune
1944-5 - Miami: (held January 1946): President George W. Healy Jr., New Orleans Times-Picayune
1946 - Los Angeles: President W.R. Arnold, Milwaukee Journal
1947 - Detroit: President A.Y. Aronson, Louisville Times
1948 - Chicago: President Stanley P. Barnett, Cleveland Plain Dealer
1949 - Fort Worth, Texas: President William P. Steven, Minneapolis Tribune
1950 - Atlanta: President Lee Hills, Miami Herald
1951 - San Francisco: President L.R. Blanchard, Rochester Democrat & Chronicle
1952 - Boston: President Herbert F. Corn, Washington Star
1953 - Chicago: President Norman E. Isaacs, Louisville Times
1954 - Tampa, Fla.: President Wallace Lomoe, Milwaukee Journal
1955 - Colorado Springs: President Vincent S. Jones, Gannett Newspapers
1956 - Philadelphia: President V.M. Newton Jr., Tampa Tribune
1957 - New Orleans: President Frank Eyerly, Des Moines Register
1958 - French Lick, Ind.: President Coleman Harwell, Nashville Tennessean
1959 - Seattle: President Michael J. Ogden, Providence Journal-Bulletin
1960 - Williamsburg, Va.: President John H. Colburn, Richmond Times-Dispatch
1961 - Dallas: President J. Edward Murray, Arizona Republic
1962 - Minneapolis: President Ed Stone, Seattle Post-Intelligencer
1963 - Miami: President Mason Walsh, Phoenix Gazette
1964 - Phoenix: President Sam Ragan, Raleigh News & Observer and Times
1965 - Buffalo, N.Y.: President George Beebe, Miami Herald
1966 - San Diego: President William B. Dickinson, Philadelphia Bulletin
1967 - Chicago: President I. William Hill, Washington Star
1968 - Oklahoma City: President David N. Schutz, Redwood City Tribune
1969 - Hartford, Conn.: President Charles S. Rowe, Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star
1970 - Honolulu: President Gilbert P. Smith, Utica Observer-Dispatch
1971 - Philadelphia: President Don Carter, The Record (Hackensack, N.J.) and Macon (Ga.) Telegram & News
1972 - Kansas City: President Wendell C. Phillippi, Indianapolis News
1973 - Orlando, Fla.: President John C. Quinn, Gannett Newspapers, Rochester, N.Y.
1974 - Long Beach, Calif.: President Richard D. Smyser, Oak Ridge (Tenn.) Oak Ridger
1975 - Williamsburg, Va.: President Robert P. Clark, Louisville Courier-Journal and Times
1976 - New York: President Larry Jinks, Miami Herald
1977 - New Orleans: President John Leard, Richmond Times-Dispatch and News Leader
1978 - Portland, Ore.: Barclay Jameson, Santa Fe New Mexican
1979 - Tulsa, Okla.: Joseph W. Shoquist, Milwaukee Journal
1980 - Phoenix: President Ed Cony, Wall Street Journal
1981 - Toronto: President Larry Allison, Long Beach Independent and Press-Telegram
1982 - San Diego: President: Robert J. Haiman, St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times
1983 - Louisville, Ky.: President Joseph M. Ungaro, Westchester Rockland (N.Y.) Newspapers
1984 - Miami: President Ted M. Natt, Longview (Wash.) Daily News
1985 - San Francisco: President Michael J. Davies, Harford (Conn.) Courant
1986 - Cincinnati: President James F. Daubel, Fremont (Ohio) News-Messenger
1987 - Seattle: President Robert E. Rhodes, Corpus Christi (Texas) Caller Times
1988 - Boston: President Robert H. Giles, Detroit (Mich.) News
1989 - Des Moines, Iowa: President Paul Janensch, West Nyack (N.Y.) Journal-News
1990 - Dallas: President Gene Foreman, Philadelphia Inquirer
1991 - Detroit: President Ralph Langer, The Dallas Morning News
1992 - Honolulu: President Sue Reisinger, Miami Herald
1993 - Minneapolis: President Robert W. Ritter, Gannett News Service
1994 - Philadelphia: President Rich Arbold, Long Beach (Calif.) Press Telegram
1995 - Indianapolis: President Larry Beaupre, Cincinnati Enquirer
1996 - Denver: President Robert G. McGruder, Detroit Free Press
1997 - Atlanta: President David Hawpe, Louisville Courier Journal
1998 - Anaheim, Calif.: President Reid MacCluggage, The Day (New London, Conn.)
1999 - Memphis: President Pam Johnson, Arizona Republic
2000 - San Antonio: President Jerry Ceppos, San Jose Mercury News
2001 - Milwaukee: President Chris Peck, Spokesman Review, Spokane, Wash.
2002 - Baltimore: President Caesar Andrews, Detroit Free Press
2003 - Phoenix: President Ed Jones, The Free-Lance Star, Fredericksburg, Va.
2004 - Louisville: President Stuart Wilk, The Dallas Morning News
2005 - San Jose, Calif.: President Deanna Sands, Omaha (Neb.) World-Herald
2006 - New Orleans: President Suki Dardarian, Seattle Times
2007 - Washington, D.C.: President Karen Magnuson, Democrat and Chronicle, Rochester, N.Y.
2008 - Las Vegas: President David Ledford, The News Journal, Wilmington, Del.
2009 - St. Louis: President Bobbie Jo Buel, Arizona Daily Star, Tucson
2010 - Poynter, St. Petersburg, Fla.: President Otis Sanford, The Commercial Appeal, Memphis, Tenn.
2011 - Denver: President Hollis Towns, Asbury Park (N.J.) Press
2012 - Nashville: President Bob Heisse, State Journal-Register, Springfield, Ill.
2013 - Indianapolis: President Brad Dennison, GateHouse Media Inc.
2014 - Chicago: President Debra Adams Simmons, The (Cleveland) Plain Dealer
2015 - Palo Alto, Calif.: President Alan D. Miller, The Columbus Dispatch

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Latest News

Lincoln, Nebraska, NewsTrain

About Associated Press Media Editors

APME is a professional network, a resource for helping editors and broadcasters improve their news coverage and newsroom operations.

Calendar of Events

APME is active throughout the year bringing editors and broadcasters together to share ideas and find solutions.


Journalism News

Whether daily, weekly or in APME's quarterly magazine, stay on top of practical news for newsroom leaders.