Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In | Register
News & Press: General News


Tuesday, February 08, 2011   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Laura Sellers-Earl
Share |
Presented by APME and SNA 

APME & SNA are proud to partner on a two-part webinar series that explores recent news events and how social media played a part in the reporting and news dissemination process.

APME & SNA Members: Only $29 each or $49 for both webinars. Non-members: $49 per webinar.

Registration Form

PART 1: The Tucson Shootings – Lessons from a Major Breaking Story
Wednesday, Feb. 16, at 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT / 9 a.m. MT / 8 a.m. PT)

Are you ready to handle a major news story in your town?
Speakers: Teri Hayt, managing editor, and Poli Corella, metro editor, Arizona Daily Star in Tucson. This webinar will highlight a number of issues when covering a major breaking news story: User-submitted photos and information, multi-media coverage and the effect on Web traffic; the effect on staff; the aftermath and continued follow-up. Specific items to be covered include:

• Steps to develop a newsroom disaster plan including first responders and their roles.
• A guide to social media – monitoring and dissecting user contributions.
• Working with national media when they come to town.
• Providing reporters, photographers and online producers with the right equipment.
• Using the appropriate language during a sensitive situation.

PART 2: Social Media: Control It Before It Controls You – Lessons Learned from the "Man with the Golden Voice" 
Wednesday, March 2, at 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT / 9 a.m. MT / 8 a.m. PT)

When a photographer at The Columbus (Ohio) Dispatch used his Flip video camera to record the amazing voice of a homeless man, no one was ready for what came next: pirating of the video, a viral explosion of interest in the video, and the homeless man and the photographer who made him famous. Speakers: Benjamin Marrison, editor, and Alan Miller, managing editor/news, The Dispatch. The staff learned how (and how not) to handle video on the Web. Members of its staff will share insights and tips from that experience.

HOW TO REGISTER: Click to download the webinar registration form.

Please fill out the form and fax to SNA at 231-932-2985. You may also register by calling 888-486-2466. Your webinar confirmation will be sent by e-mail.

Members of SNA and/or APME: $29 each or $49 for both webinars 
Non-Members: $49 each or $98 for both webinars.

Note: To guarantee your webinar seat, registration is required no later than one hour prior to the start of the webinar.

For questions, contact or 888-486-2466. 


Laura Sellers-Earl says...
Posted Tuesday, February 08, 2011
Will the sessions be recorded for watching later if you purchase beforehand?

Associated Press Media Editors

APME is a professional network, a resource for helping editors and broadcasters improve their news coverage and newsroom operations.

Quick Links

Home About News Events