Print Page | Your Cart | Sign In | Register
Nashville McCormick Awards for Journalism Educators
Journalism Educators and College Media Advisers:
Apply for McCormick Award To Attend NewsTrain / Nashville

TO: Journalism Educators and College Media Advisers

FROM: Elaine Kramer, APME NewsTrain

You are invited to apply for an award to attend a two-day editing workshop, Sept. 23-24, 2010, in Nashville, sponsored by APME NewsTrain and the Freedom Forum.

NewsTrain is offering 20 awards for journalism educators – to cover registration, hotel and some meal and transportation expenses - for a value of up to $400. These awards as well as some specialized content for educators are made possible through a grant from the McCormick Foundation.

The two-track, two-day workshop features material that will help you stay abreast of what newsroom editors are learning and applying in their jobs today. In addition, the workshop will provide a seminar for educators only.

The two tracks at the workshop will be:

1. The Evolving Journalist

2. The Nimble Leader

Applications will be accepted from active 2-year or 4-year college faculty members, adjunct faculty members and student media advisers.

To apply for the award:

1. Please fill out the application CLICK HERE TO GO TO APPLICATION

2. Please submit a statement of support from your department head or chair by email or postal mail.

Deadline for the award applications and letters demonstrating departmental support is 6/15/10, with notification of recipients by 6/30/10.

Criteria for awards are:

• Content on application form.

• Letter of support from your departmental chair or dean.

• Statement explaining financial need, in light of the likelihood that all applicants have financial need.

These factors also will be considered:

• We wish to create a participant group that reflects diversity in the following categories: mix of university, college and community college representatives; program size; geography; participant ethnicity, experience and gender.

• Please note that awards will be granted to the journalism educators who helped plan the workshop and the awards program for this NewsTrain (or someone from their college). These educators will be members of the selection committee.

Award winners will be determined by a committee to include: Elaine Kramer, APME NewsTrain; Val Hoeppner, Freedom Forum; Beverly Keel, Middle Tennessee State University; Candy Justice, University of Memphis; Thom Storey, Belmont University.


Awards will have a value of up to $400. Awards will directly pay for workshop registration and up to 2 nights at the workshop hotel. Awards will reimburse for allowable expenses up to the $400 cap incurred between Sept. 22-24, 2010. Allowable expenses include meals outside workshop hours and travel costs such as gas, fares, parking, etc.

Award recipients will receive a reimbursement request form and must submit it, with receipts, according to its guidelines.

Reimbursement may take 8 to 10 weeks from time of submission.

NOTE: Though our funding may limit scholarship grants to one per school, additional faculty members are also welcome to attend the workshop through the regular registration process.

Associated Press Media Editors

APME is a professional network, a resource for helping editors and broadcasters improve their news coverage and newsroom operations.

Quick Links

Home About News Events