Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In | Register
News & Press: General News: General News

Seigenthaler, Ganim, Davis Given APME President's Awards

Friday, September 21, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Laura Sellers-Earl
Share |
John Seigenthaler, Sara Ganim and J. Lowe Davis have received President’s Awards at the annual Associated Press Media Editors conference in Nashville, Tenn.

The awards were presented by outgoing APME President Bob Heisse.

Seigenthaler, a journalist and political figure, is known as a prominent defender of the First Amendment and founder of the First Amendment Center in 1961. This year’s APME conference is being held at the center. Seigenthaler was recognized for career achievement.

Ganim, a crime reporter for The Patriot-News in Harrisburg, Pa., led the newspaper’s Pulitzer Prize-winning coverage of the Jerry Sandusky scandal. She was honored for reaching out to young journalists and for what her work has done to elevate child abuse awareness.

Davis, executive editor of the Virgin Islands Daily News, was recognized for outstanding career achievement. The Daily News is a frequent winner of the APME Public Service award for small newspapers and other awards for its aggressive reporting.

"We don’t usually give three President’s Awards, but all three recipients are outstanding and deserve special recognition,” Heisse said.

Associated Press Media Editors

APME is a professional network, a resource for helping editors and broadcasters improve their news coverage and newsroom operations.

Quick Links

Home About News Events