Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In | Register
2019 News Leaders Awards are now open for submissions
Share |

2019 News Leaders Awards are now open for submissions

The American Society of News Editors and the Associated Press Media Editors announce the first annual News Leaders Awards. The News Leaders Awards reflect the merging of these tradition-rich organizations in honoring excellence and innovation in journalism. They will replace the ASNE Awards and APME Awards, blending hallmarks of both contests.


All news websites, news services (including radio, TV stations and magazines) and newspapers in the United States are eligible to enter. Outside the United States, news organizations that are headed by an active member of ASNE or APME are also eligible. Each nominating organization must create its own account to enter. To submit entries to the 2019 News Leaders Awards, please click here. 


All entries must have been published originally, whether in print or online, in 2018, except for the Batten Medal and O’Brien Fellowship Award, which can include work published over a two-year period (Jan. 1, 2017, to Dec. 31, 2018). All entries must be submitted in English. The work of a journalist or team can be entered in more than one category but will be selected as a winner in no more than one. The work of both employees and freelance contributors is eligible.


Organizations can submit up to three entries per category. Individuals from eligible organizations may self-enter even if the organization submits three entries. No minimum number of articles/digital components is required in each category. Be sure to read all of the rules and category descriptions before submitting entries. Entrants in the News Leaders Awards should read each category closely to make sure rules are followed. Deviations from the rules may result in disqualification.

All entries must be submitted by 
11:59 p.m. EST Thursday, Jan. 24, 2019.

There is a nonrefundable handling fee of $75 per entry. 

In five categories, there will be two awards, recognizing accomplishments by large and small news organizations. Those categories are:

 Frank A. Blethen Award for Local Accountability Reporting.

 Punch Sulzberger Award for Innovative Storytelling.

 Deborah Howell Award for Writing Excellence

 Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership and Community Engagement.

 Visual Journalism Award.

Size is determined by the number of full-time-equivalent employees in a newsroom — all those involved in reporting, editing, visuals, multimedia, design and production, and will be defined as:

 Large (News organization with staffs of 51 or more)

 Small (News organization with staffs of 50 or fewer)

In the following categories, one person, team or organization will be honored:

 Al Neuharth Breaking News Reporting Award.

 Batten Medal for Courage in Journalism.

 O’Brien Fellowship Award for Impact in Public Service Journalism.

 Dori J. Maynard Award for Justice in Journalism.

 Mike Royko Award for Commentary and Column Writing.

 First Amendment Award.

Thanks to our sponsors, eight of the 11 categories come with a cash prize. They are:

 The Frank A. Blethen Award for Local Accountability Reporting, sponsored by The Seattle Times.

 The Punch Sulzberger Award for Innovative Storytelling, sponsored by The New York Times.

 The Deborah Howell Award for Writing Excellence, sponsored by Advance Publications.

 The Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership and Community Engagement, sponsored by The Dallas Morning News.

 The Batten Medal, sponsored by a group of editors from the former Knight Ridder company.

 The O'Brien Fellowship Award for Impact in Public Service Journalism, sponsored by the fellowship at Marquette University.

 The Dori J. Maynard Award for Justice in Journalism, sponsored by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

 The Mike Royko Award for Commentary and Column Writing, sponsored by the Chicago Tribune.

Questions can be answered from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST Monday-Friday. Contact ASNE Senior Information Specialist Megan Morrison at or ASNE Senior Communications Assistant Deena Kahn at or 573-882-2430.

Winners will be announced in the spring and will be recognized at the NLA (ASNE-APME) conference, September 9-10 in New Orleans. Registration for the 2019 NLA conference is open, register now!

Associated Press Media Editors

APME is a professional network, a resource for helping editors and broadcasters improve their news coverage and newsroom operations.

Quick Links

Home About News Events