Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In | Register
2018 APME Committees

If you'd like to get involved in the good work of APME or have questions about the committees, e-mail the committee chairs below.

Much of APME's work occurs throughout the year in the association's committees.

While individual goals change every year as new issues and opportunities arise, the priority remains the same: help APME assist busy editors and directors to become better managers leading trained, professional staffs who put out interesting, relevant newspapers, websites and broadcast reports.

The committees are a great way to get involved with the association and to move into an important, visible role in the news industry.


The committee plans the News Leaders Association conference, attends to the details and runs the show each year.

Co-Chairs: Dennis Anderson, Peoria (Ill.) Journal Star, and Sally Stapleton, Pittsburgh Post Gazette

Marketing and Membership

Committee works to improve our engagement through, Facebook, Twitter and other social media. This team oversees content for our digital platforms. It also assists in matching board mentors with new members, and assesses membership values, fees and experiences

Co-Chairs: Summer Moore, GateHouse Media, and Juli Metzger, Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.
Members: Kurt Franck, The Blade, Toledo, Ohio, Maria Caporizzo, The Providence (R.I.) Journal, and Autumn Phillips, Post and Courier, Charleston, S.C.

First Amendment/Media Literacy

Champions the First Amendment through programs and initiatives and by partnering with other journalism organizations. Takes the lead in alerting membership on issues that erode freedoms. Looks for opportunities and strategic partnerships to assist local news organizations in their efforts to engage more directly and build trust with their audiences; as well as educate the public about the role of the media.

Co-Chairs: Mark Baldwin, Rockford (Ill.) Register Star, Kathy Best, The Missoulian, Missoula, Mont.
Members: Maria Caporizzo, The Providence (R.I.) Journal, Matt Christensen, Quad City Times,  Davenport, Iowa, Tom Arviso, The Navajo Times, Window Rock, Ariz., and Autumn Phillips, Post and Courier, Charleston, S.C.


This committee organizes the annual APME awards and the AP staff awards. Works with marketing and other committees to publicize the awards, entry criteria and deadlines. Then the group coordinates the judging each summer and presentations at the conference.

Co-Chairs: Tom Koetting, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and Anne Brennan, The MetroWest Daily News and The Milford Daily News, Mass.


Committee organizes the Robert G. McGruder Diversity Leadership award and will focus throughout the year on diversity leadership priorities.

Co-Chairs: Sandra Clark, WHYY, Philadelphia, and George Rodrigue, The Plain Dealer, Cleveland

Members: Tom Arviso, The Navajo Times, Window Rock, Ariz., Michael Anastasi, The Tennessean, and  Katrice Hardy, The Greenville (S.C.) News


A national touring workshop serving journalists in their own regions. Programs are designed to provide training in the skills, knowledge, and information newsroom leaders need in a rapidly changing media setting.

Co-Chairs: Anne Brennan, The MetroWest Daily News and The Milford Daily News, Mass., and Kurt Franck, The Blade, Toledo, Ohio

Associated Press Media Editors

APME is a professional network, a resource for helping editors and broadcasters improve their news coverage and newsroom operations.

Quick Links

Home About News Events